- What equipment must be on board if your vessel is 16 feet or longer?
- Are boaters in Georgia required to have a whistle onboard their vessel?
- What type of fire extinguisher is required on a motorized boat?
- What size boat needs a fire extinguisher?
- How old do you have to be to not wear a lifejacket in Georgia?
- Is boat insurance required in GA?
- What do 3 short blasts of a horn indicate?
- What is the first thing you do in a boating accident?
- How much is a ticket for no life jacket in Georgia?
- Does my boat need a fire extinguisher?
- Do you have to have a whistle on a boat?
- What are the required safety items for a boat?
- What must be carried on a 25 foot powerboat?
- What should a skier do if she he falls in the water?
- What is a requirement for fire extinguishers on a boat quizlet?
What equipment must be on board if your vessel is 16 feet or longer?
All recreational vessels must carry one wearable life jacket for each person on board .
Any boat 16 feet and longer (except canoes and kayaks) must also carry one throwable (Type IV) device .
Life jackets should be worn at all times when the vessel is under- way ..
Are boaters in Georgia required to have a whistle onboard their vessel?
Regardless of what type of boat you are operating, you must have at least one Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device for each person on board. … For boats under 26 feet long, no whistle or sound producing device is required by law.
What type of fire extinguisher is required on a motorized boat?
Pleasure craft may be required by the Small Vessel Regulations to carry a 5B:C or a 10B:C fire extinguisher, depending upon the type and length of the boat, and the equipment on board. PWCs must have one 5B:C fire extinguisher on board unless everyone on board is wearing a lifejacket or PFD.
What size boat needs a fire extinguisher?
Boats less than 26′ have to have at least one B-1 fire extinguisher on board. Boats 26′-40′ need to have at least two B-1 fire extinguishers on board. If the boat has a USCG approved fire extinguisher system installed for protection of the engine compartment, then the required number may be reduced.
How old do you have to be to not wear a lifejacket in Georgia?
Georgia law requires that all children under 13 years of age wear a USCG–approved PFD while on board any moving vessel.
Is boat insurance required in GA?
You need boat insurance- While boat insurance is not required by the state of Georgia, it’s a common sense part of boat ownership. Besides covering your property in case of damage, boat insurance is an important layer of protection if an accident occurs.
What do 3 short blasts of a horn indicate?
One prolonged blast indicates you are getting under way, and three short blasts indicate you are backing up. This is what is sounded when you are departing a dock in reverse. Five Short Blasts – This is the DANGER signal.
What is the first thing you do in a boating accident?
If you are involved in a boating accident and the boat is still afloat and you are aboard, then the first thing to do is to determine whether you or anyone else needs medical attention. If anyone has fallen overboard, then you should assist the victim back onto the boat when possible.
How much is a ticket for no life jacket in Georgia?
$50 fine. All vessels must be equipped with a personal flotation device for each person on board.
Does my boat need a fire extinguisher?
Boat fire extinguishers are needed for every type of marine vessel. Even small fishing boats should have a boat fire extinguisher on board in the event the trolling motor catches fire.
Do you have to have a whistle on a boat?
An efficient sound signaling device is now required on every boat on the water. … Under 39.4 feet: needs to be equipped with some “means of making an efficient sound signal,” such as a whistle or horn, but it can’t be a human produced noise.
What are the required safety items for a boat?
5 Must-Have Safety Equipment for Your BoatLife jackets and wearable personal flotation devices (PFDs) An accessible, wearable PFD (Type I, II, or III) is a life jacket that must be available for each person on board. … Throwable flotation devices. … Fire extinguishers. … Visual signaling devices. … Sound signaling devices.
What must be carried on a 25 foot powerboat?
PFDs, Flares Fire Extinguishers, Sound Devices and Lights One personal flotation device (in good condition) for each person on board, plus a throw-able cushion or ring is required. You must have the PFDs out of the plastic and in a READILY accessible location. The throw-able should be close by the steering station.
What should a skier do if she he falls in the water?
If the skier wants to return to the dock or the boat, the skier should pat one hand on his or her head. After a fall, a skier should always signal to the observer that he or she is okay by holding both arms together above the head. Using these signals will help to ensure the safety of the skier and of others.
What is a requirement for fire extinguishers on a boat quizlet?
A boat 26′ to less than 40′ with no fixed system must have two B-I or one B-II fire extinguishers on board. A boat 26′ to less that 40′ with approved fixed extinguisher system requires one B-I extinguisher.